recipes

Chicken Parmesan Sliders

Y’all. Oh my goodness. These delectable things are the best little sandwiches ever. My lovely better half and I have a thing I like to call “he picks it and I make it” when it comes to food he sees online. He is much more of a foodie than I am when it comes to trying new things, but I love that he sees potential in things I probably wouldn’t otherwise try. There have been a lot of success stories among a few duds, so for the most part the things he picks out for me to make end up turning out well. This particular recipe turned out so well that I wanted to put it out there for y’all to hopefully make and enjoy yourselves! This recipe is based solely on the idea he saw online, and is entirely mine. I usually make the full dish with pasta and sides, so I thought surely it would be easy to scale down to make sliders. I’m so glad I was right!

I started with six chicken tenders that I cut into three inch pieces. I pounded the chunks between pieces of parchment paper until they were very thin, but not falling apart. I double-breaded them, then browned them in a skillet lightly coated in non-stick spray until they were just cooked through before layering them on the rolls. This recipe has several ingredients/steps, but I promise you, it is super quick and easy! I only had enough chicken to do 10 sliders, so that’s why two are missing. I’ll do better next time, I promise!

Preheat oven to 425°

  • 5-6 chicken tenders (depends on size), cut into 3″ chunks and pounded thin. You will need 12 total pieces to make full recipe.
  • 12 pack of slider buns/rolls of your choice
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (I used finely shredded for quicker melting)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup marinara sauce (it’s all personal preference here!)
  • 1/2 cup flour of choice (I used unbleached self-rising)
  • 1 cup either plain or Italian seasoned Panko breadcrumbs (I used plain)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder, divided
  • 1 tablespoon of seasoned salt, divided
  • egg wash (one egg and 1/4 cup milk or water whisked together)
  • Italian seasoned garlic butter to brush on top (2 Tbsp. butter, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning)

I use two medium sized bowls for the dry ingredients and one small bowl for the egg wash. Pour flour, 1 tablespoon of garlic powder, and 1/2 tablespoon of seasoned salt into one of the medium bowls. Pour the Panko breadcrumbs, the parmesan cheese, 1 tablespoon of garlic powder, and 1/2 tablespoon of seasoned salt in the other medium bowl. Mix both thoroughly. Take the pounded chicken pieces one at a time and dip into the egg wash, then the flour mixture, then the egg wash again, and then the breadcrumb mixture. Place them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet until you’re ready to cook. At this point you can either bake them on the parchment paper at 400° for 12 minutes, or put them in a skillet on the stovetop. I chose the skillet, but as long as they’re cooked that’s all that matters!20170706_201718.jpgOnce all the chicken is cooked through, slice the slider buns and place the bottom halves in a baking dish. Arrange the pieces of chicken on the rolls in the dish and coat with 1/4-1/2 cup of marinara sauce of your choice. Sprinkle the mozzarella evenly on top of the marinara sauce, and replace the top portion of the buns. 20170706_202441.jpgBrush seasoned garlic butter on the tops, and place into oven until butter is melted and they’re lightly browned, about five minutes. 20170706_202834.jpgServe with a salad for a complete meal! This serves 4 adults easily, or in my case two adults and two children with leftovers. Reheat leftovers in a covered dish in the oven at 350° for about 15 minutes.20170706_204216

Leave a Reply

